Hello! And, Spaghetti Pie.

I get bored easily. I also get distracted easily.

I have a ton of creative impulses where I want to sew, cook, write, paint, decorate…etc. And then I turn on the tv and two hours are gone. My apartment remains a mess because I get caught up in Criminal Minds and my creative side cries. Its not necessarily my fault that I love shows about crime; though I have squelched part of that addiction by not buying cable and ridding myself of TruTV. But I do have Netflix. You win some, you lose some.
I spend free time looking up recipies that I want to make. Unfortunately, I live alone so sometimes I end up eating the food for days. Or begging friends to come over – which would involve me cleaning. But when no one comes over, no one gets to taste the awesome food I make. Fortunately, I have a party on Saturday that should supress these urges for a little while. I also have a tendency to combine random foods when I don’t have anything that equals one recipe.  Plus, I’m really lazy.
So hence this blog. An outlet for all my creative impulses that randomly shoot through me. And to start me off, I offer up a recipe I made last night that’s adapted from this  Spaghetti Pie  at AllRecipes.com.

Spaghetti Pie

  • 1 pound spaghetti
  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • garlic powder to taste
  • 1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper
  • 1 (26 ounce) jar pasta sauce
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup of ricotta cheese
  • 1/2 (8 ounce) package cream cheese
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese
  • Butter and Parmesan cheese to taste
 Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add pasta and cook for 8 to 10 minutes or until al dente; drain. Put noodles back in pot and toss with butter and Parmesan cheese.
  3. In a skillet over medium heat, brown the ground beef. Drain and crumble. Put crumbled beef in skillet. Stir in salt, pepper, garlic powder, bell pepper and pasta sauce. Keep heated on stove top
  4. In a small bowl combine sour cream, ricotta cheese and cream cheese and set aside.
  5. Coat a 9×13 inch baking dish with cooking spray and add the cooked spaghetti. Spread the cream cheese mixture over it, add the meat mixture and sprinkle with Cheddar Cheese.
  6. Cover and bake for 25 minutes. Uncover and bake for 5 more minutes until the cheese is bubbly.

I don’t have a picture of my finished product, but future posts probably will. I will say this much…it was delicious. And fattening.  And incredibly easy to freeze for future lunches.

Categories: Recipes | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Hello! And, Spaghetti Pie.

  1. beginsatsundown

    I ❤ spaghetti pie!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

