Mother’s Day

I have a great family. However, outside of my mother, I’m pretty much the only one that can cook. 

Plus my brothers both left town for Mother’s Day this year (cowards) so brunch was on me. 

I went with my favorites – Baked Eggs, Sweet Potato and Sausage hash and sliced avocados. Oh, and of course Mimosas! 

 

Baked eggs are seriously the easiest food in the world to make. I like to make them in rolls but if you have a ramikien, you can bake in that. I used kaiser rolls for these, and just chose the fluffiest ones I could find in the loose roll bin at the Jewel. 

Step one: slice off the top of the roll and remove some of the middle. Brush with olive oil or melted butter. Preheat oven to 350. 

Image

Step 2: Crack an egg into the middle of the roll. Add a splash of heavy cream or half and half. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Image

Cover with Parmesan cheese (asiago would probably be really good too!)Image

Step 3: Put in oven for 20 – 30 minutes, depending on preference of doneness. For the last five minutes, put the tops of the bread that were sliced off in to toast. 

Thats it! Done!  The best part is that it taste good no matter what the yolk hardness is. My mother and dad were late getting to my place, so I left them in the oven to stay warm and they ended up with a harder yolk than I normally like. But my parents both loved it.  

 

Ta da! Image

Oh! And don’t forget dessert! I made cherry brownies – just a box of brownies but instead of adding water, put a can of cherry pie filling in and bake. Delicious! Image

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

