Passion and Money

There’s a thought I have occasionally – that I’m sure we all have: What would I do if I won the lottery?

I would not stay at my job. I would probably donate some money. I would buy a plane ticket to an exotic land. I would pay off my family’s loans.

But then I think about the first part. What job could I possibly get that would fulfill me enough that I wouldn’t quit if I got a million dollars? Is there a job out there like that? You hear of people that say ‘I love my job’, but I’ve never actual met those people in real life – its like a unicorn!

There’s the advice to ‘follow your passion’ of course, but currently, I don’t know what that is. I like a lot of things – cooking, writing, photography etc, but not enough to devote my life to it. And what if your passion doesn’t help you make a living? I have a friend that adores horses and applied for a job at a stable. But it didn’t pay enough for her to live on. What kind of sacrifice is worth it? A lot of passions don’t really pay well, and there’s more than a handful of disgruntled workers out there.

I guess the thing I’m passionate about is travelling, but I’m not really sure how to make that support me.

Categories: reflections, Uncategorized | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

